Dreaming Versus Acting

What happened to the saying, follow your dreams and the success will follow? So often today do we find broken individuals working monotonous and pragmatic dead end jobs, rather than following their true passion. Why is this? We are told from the day we are born to do what we love and don’t let anyone get in the way of your dreams. This statement, however true in theory, remains nearly impossible for so many to do  today. Is it because we have come to cherish the overvalued price of security? Is it because we feel as though we are not worthy of following our dreams? Do we subconsciously feel that our true dreams are unattainable or ill-advised? There is no right answer to these questions, but how can we apply them to identifying dreaming versus acting?

So often are we told to follow our dreams but are scolded and discouraged when we make the leap. In my opinion, our generation has drifted from true innovation and has simply become “ok” with working the dead end job because it is simply a means to an end. This, for me, however, is not the answer. I want more from life than to just be “ok” with myself and my occupation.

Pragmatic experiences are essential in learning the ropes of life but do not, and should not, define the rest of our lives and how we live them. For the majority of the population, their full-time job is just a channel to facilitate their true passion. However, when the time comes to act on their passion, they bail because of the insecurity and risk they absorb in either starting their own business or quitting their full time job. Yes, this is scary but this should not deter you from following your dreams.

Everyone on this planet has dreams. Those who have the ability to act on those dreams are the billionaire investors, executives of fortune 500 companies, and truly happy individuals because they have not only the guts but the ability to act on those dreams. Dreaming is one thing. Acting is another.

In co-founding my own business, I was terrified. I had no idea whether or not I was going to be able to survive off of no income while going to school full-time. These factors, and many more, scared me away from jumping at the opportunity of getting this business up and running. On the other side of the coin, I looked at this opportunity as a chance for me to grow as a young entrepreneur, to meet tons of new people, to change the world, and to make a positive impact on business across the country. Yes, I was scared beyond compare. I wasn’t sure what the future was going to look like for myself, my business partner, or my company and for that reason I was honest to God terrified. However, on the day I made the final decision, I simply closed my eyes, went with market hearts decision, and agreed 100% to the business. In retrospect, that decision was undoubtedly one of the best I’ve ever made. It gave me the opportunity to change business at a very young age and make a lasting impact on the community.

To make a change, you MUST do more than just dream. You have to act and act big. Make your dreams a reality because sooner than your know, the opportunity will have come and gone. Do not miss out on an opportunity to change the world. Act strategically and act big. Never leave anything on the table so you can look back and feel no remorse. You have the power to change the world with your actions but, to sound like a broken record, you have to take the leap of faith and dream big but act BIGGER.

Leave a Reply

